July is the seventh month of the year (between June and August) in the Julian and Gregorian Calendars and one of seven months with the length of 31 days. It was named by the Roman Senate in honor of the Roman general, Julius Caesar, it being the month of his birth. Prior to that, it was called Quintilis.

It is on average the warmest month in most of the Northern hemisphere (where it is the second month of summer) and the coldest month in much of the Southern hemisphere (where it is the second month of winter). The second half of the year commences in July. In the Southern hemisphere, July is the seasonal equivalent of January in the Northern hemisphere.

In the Northern Hemisphere, "Dog days" are considered to begin in early July, when the hot sultry weather of summer usually starts. Spring lambs, born in late winter or early spring, are usually sold before July 1.

July is the The traditional period known as "fence month" (the closed season for deer in England), the end Trinity term (sitting of the High Court of Justice of England), taking place on July 31, and also the time in which the elections of Japanese House of Councillors, replacing half of its seats, held every three years (the latest one in 2016).

In Ancient Rome the festival of Poplifugia was celebrated on July 5, Ludi Apollinares on July 13 and for several days afterwards, but these dates does not correspond to the modern Gregorian one.


This list does not necessarily imply either official status nor general observance.

Month-long observances

Movable observances, 2016

First Friday: July 1

First Saturday: July 2

First Saturday and Sunday: July 2–3

First Full Week in July: July 3-10

First Sunday: July 3
Sunday closest to July 2: July 3
First Monday: July 4
Day after First Monday: July 5
July 5 or following Monday if its a weekend: July 5
Second Sunday: July 10

Nearest Sunday to July 11: July 10

Second Thursday: July 14

Third Sunday: July 17

Third Monday: July 18

Weekend of fourth Saturday: July 22–24

Fourth Sunday: July 24

Second to Last Sunday: July 24

Fourth Thursday: July 28

Thursday before the first Monday in August: July 28

Following Friday: July 29

Fourth Friday: July 29

Last Friday: July 29

Last Saturday: July 30

Last Sunday: July 31

Movable Western Christian observances

Movable Eastern Christian observances

Non-Gregorian observances, 2016

(please note that all Jewish observances begin at sunset the day prior to the date listed)

Fixed observances

July symbols